MACC excellence awards presented Saturday

The Emma S. Barrientos Mexican American Cultural Center’s ninth annual Awards of Excellence ceremony will be at 7 p.m. Saturday. The event recognizes Latinos for the artistic excellence they bring to the cultural arts of Austin.

Recipients of the award will have their names added to the multi-faceted “Pétalos” sculpture, a permanent installation at the city-owned center, at 600 River St.

The award winners are musician Lesly Reynaga for the emerging artist award; University of Texas professor Emilio Zamora for the service award; reporter Nancy Flores of the American-Statesman and Ahora Si! for the media arts award; UT theater education teacher Roxanne Schroeder-Arce for the arts educator award; artist Fidencio Duran for the visual arts award; musician Ruben Ramos for the music award; and writer and activist Martha P. Cotera for the lifetime achievement award.

The ceremony is free to attend.